Past Presidents / Anciens présidents

The past presidents may use the flag of the president with the colors reversed. A past-presidential streamer was introduced in 2014 for use on the past president’s personal flag.

  • Whitney Smith+ Ph.D., LF, FF, WSF, FFI, FVAST (1967–1977)
  • John Lyman+ Ph.D. (1977)
  • The Rt. Rev’d D. Ralph Spence (1977–1978)
  • The Rev. John R. B. Szala+ M.Ed. (1978–1980)
  • Robert S. Gauron+ (1980–1981)
  • John M. Purcell+ Ph.D., FF, WSF (1981–1983)
  • Grace Rogers Cooper+ WSF (1983–1986)
  • Doreen Braverman (1986–1987)
  • Woodrow W. Ridgeway+ (1987–1989)
  • Donald T. Healy (1989–1991)
  • Scot M. Guenter Ph.D., LF, FF, WSF, FVAST (1991–1994)
  • Nicholas A. Artimovich 2d (1994–1996)
  • Charles A. Spain J.D., WSF (1996–1998)
  • David B. Martucci (1998–2004)
  • Peter A. Ansoff (2004–2008)
  • Hugh L. Brady J.D., FF (2008–2014)

Prof. Pierre Lux-Wurm+ served as acting president and Prof. Whitney Smith served as acting secretary during the period from the June 3–4, 1967 organizational meeting until the Association’s November 18, 1967 first annual meeting, at which time bylaws were adopted and the first executive board elected. • Past president’s flag and streamer description. Flag and streamer images: full size