2017–2018 Executive Board / Conseil d’administration

The executive board is the association’s corporate board of directors and is elected at the annual business meeting. The nominating committee presents a recommended slate of officers to the voting members in advance of the annual business meeting.

President:  Peter Ansoff, Annandale, Virginia

The president’s flag features the star symbolizing hope and guidance which Cheyenne Indians called “woheiv.”

First Vice President:  Luc Baronian, Québec City, Québec

The first vice president’s flag displays the Mongolian flame, emblematic of continuity and renaissance. Originally the flag of the vice president, the flag became associated with the first vice president in 1997.

Second Vice President:  Steve Knowlton, Princeton, New Jersey

The second vice president’s flag features the Ashanti symbol of welcome and love for one another. Originally the flag of the corresponding secretary, the flag became associated with the second vice president in 1997.

Secretary: Ted Kaye, Portland, Oregon

The secretary’s flag displays a medieval Arab penbox. Originally the flag of the recording secretary, the flag became associated with the secretary in 1997. The secretary is the custodian of the Association’s seal.

Treasurer:  James J. Ferrigan III, Reno, Nevada

The treasurer’s flag displays the phoenix symbol of tax collection in Thailand.


Note about the officer flags:
The officer flags were designed by Whitney Smith and adopted by the executive board in 1977. The red background and blue chevron on each officer’s flag is adopted from the flag of NAVA; the gold used for the symbols is the traditional color of authority. The symbols themselves come from many cultures and countries indicating the universal extent of our interest and they derive from different symbolic media.  More detail about the officer flags can be found in Issue 11 of Flag Research Quarterly, which is available in the Publications section here.

The 1976–1977 Executive Board at NAVA 11 / ICV 7 (1977)

With their flags (Left to right): Ralph Spence, vice president; Whitney Smith, president; John Cross, corresponding secretary; Ashley Talbot, recording secretary; John Lyman, treasurer. Photo: Nick Artimovich.

In 1987, the executive board decided that former officers could display the normal rank flag for the office in question, but with the red-and-blue colors reversed.