NAVA 47 (2013)

Plaza Hotel at Temple Square, Salt Lake City, Utah
October 11–13, 2014

Meeting flag description: Reminiscent of the Association’s flag, the design in blue and white features a golden beehive for Utah, the Beehive State. Many early Utah flags used blue and white in their color scheme. White and blue are colors that visually describe the host city, white for salt and blue for the waters of the Great Salt Lake. The white cut “V” also symbolizes the valley between the Wasatch and Oquirrh mountain ranges. The beehive is the single most important and recognizable symbol of the state as it has been from pioneer days. Like beehives, the early settlements of Utah were founded as self-reliant communities sustained by the united work of their inhabitants. The two arcs of stars with four stars above and seven stars below symbolize that the gathering is the Association’s 47th annual meeting. By coincidence, 47 is a significant and recognizable number in Utah, commemorating the year 1847 when Utah’s pioneers arrived in the Great Basin. The large star below the beehive signifies the “Rising Star of Deseret” shown on many early flags of Utah history. It is rotated with a point down placing it in a rising attitude. As Utah’s star rose to join the other stars in the blue union of the Stars and Stripes, NAVA 47 represents the Association’s growing membership in Utah as the state rises to take its place among the other states and provinces from which the Association draws its membership. This rising star thus points to growing participation of Utah’s NAVA members.

Meeting flag proportions: 2:3
Meeting flag designer: John M. Hartvigsen
Meeting host: John M. Hartvigsen

Significant Events

The Doreen Braverman Award and Kevin Harrington Award were added to the Association’s awards and honors program. The inaugural George Henry Preble Lecture was held, named in honor of Rear Admiral Preble, author of the first significant history of the U.S. flag. The inaugural Whitney Smith Dinner, named in honor of the Association’s founder, was held.

George Henry Preble Lecture / Conférence George-Henry-Preble

“Terrible as an Army with Banners,” Richard E. Bennett Ph.D., president of the Mormon History Association and professor and chair, Department of Church History, Brigham Young University. Delivered October 11, 2013 at the Relief Society Room, Joseph Smith Memorial Building, Salt Lake City. The address is published in Raven: A Journal of Vexillology 21 (2014): 1–18.


Revisiting the Flag at Prospect Hill:  Grand Union or Just British?, Byron DeLear, Va.

Revitalized Flag Magic: Flag Retirement Rituals and the Power of Talismans, Scot M. Guenter Ph.D., LF, FF, WSF, Calif.

The Flag’s Own Right: Right, Wrong, or Sinister Conspiracy?, John M. Hartvigsen, Utah

Ancient Standards of Israel, Marilyn Hichborn, Calif.

The Hawaiian Flag Has Always Been White, Red, and Blue, Patrick Ka’ano’i, Hawaii

Flags of New World Slave Risings, Steven A Knowlton M.L.I.S., Tenn.

Historical Flags of Our Ancestors, Peter Loeser, Calif.

Flags as Flair: The Iconography of Space Shuttle Mission Patches, Anne M. Platoff M.S., M.A., FF, Calif.

Storage of Collections:  A Time for Great Possibilities, Gwen Spicer M.S., FAIC, N.Y.

Backstage Anecdotes from the 2002 Salt Lake Winter Olympics’ Medals/Flags Ceremony Team, Paul B. Swenson, Utah

Flags and Emblems of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea: Vexillidolatry in its Purest Form, Dean C. Thomas, Ark.

Exploring the Genealogy of the President’s Flag of the U.S.A., 1915-1959, Robert M. Williamson, N.C.

TFV.Whitney Smith.flagWhitney Smith Dinner / Banquet Whitney Smith
The inaugural Whitney Smith Banquet was held on October 12, 2013 at The Lion House, 63 East South Temple, South Lake City.

Awards and Honors

Whitney Smith Fellow: Charles A. Spain J.D.

Honorary Membership (for distinguished service to the Association): Kirby A. Baker Ph.D., Don E. Carleton Ph.D., Austin Smith

John Purcell Award: John M. Hartvigsen

Captain William Driver Award: Dean C. Thomas

Kevin Harrington Award: Kevin Harrington M.A.T., FF

Doreen Braverman Award: Doreen Braverman


  • John S, Adcock
  • Mary Ansoff
  • Peter Ansoff
  • Maikel Arista-Salado
  • Chris Bedwell
  • Hugh L. Brady
  • Doreen Braverman
  • Jack Braverman
  • David Breitenbach
  • Al Cavalari
  • Joe Cook
  • Kate Cushman
  • Liam Cushman
  • Byron DeLear
  • Mary Ann Docktor-Smith
  • Chuck Douglas
  • Donna Douglas
  • Federico Drews
  • Henriette Essapo
  • Jim Ferrigan
  • Kathleen Forrest
  • Ron Fox
  • Scot Guenter
  • Kevin Harrington
  • Deanna Hartvigsen
  • John Hartvigsen
  • Kenneth Hartvigsen
  • Hal Hichborn
  • Marilyn Hichborn
  • Ryan James
  • Bea Jones
  • Heinke Ka’anoi
  • Patrick Ka’anoi
  • Edward Kaye
  • Steve Knowlton
  • Amy Langston
  • Julianna Langston
  • Vernón León
  • Marianne Loeser
  • Peter Loeser
  • John Lowe
  • Karen Lowe
  • Maxime Meka Meka
  • Joan Merrington
  • Rich Monahan
  • Stan Mottaz
  • Kevin Murray
  • Corey Oisen
  • Michael Orelove
  • David Ott
  • Annie Platoff
  • Michael Platoff
  • Gary Randall
  • Ken Reynolds
  • Bobbie Rezutek
  • David Rodearmel
  • Tim Seipel
  • DeVaughn Simper
  • Greg Slayden
  • Chris Smith
  • Randy Smith
  • Larry Soucier
  • Charles A. Spain
  • Gwen Spicer
  • Paul Swenson
  • Dean Thomas
  • Gus Tracchia
  • Pete Van de Putte
  • Vanessa Van de Putte
  • Gil Vegas
  • Robert Williamson